ASEAN @ 50

Happy 50th Anniversary to the ASEAN: One Vision, One Identity, One Community!

ASEAN 50 Philippines 2017: Partnering for Change and Engaging the World

ASEAN is 50 years old in 2017.  It started with five founding member countries in 1967 – Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand.  Brunei joined in 1984.  ASEAN’s membership further expanded with Vie Nam joining in 1995, Laos and Myanmar in 1997, and Cambodia in 1999.

The ASEAN Charter entered into force in 2008.  The Charter gave ASEAN, after more than 40 years of existence, a legal personality and profiled it as a rules-based organization.

ASEAN is keeping the momentum of regional integration and community-building through the next 10 years, after the launch of the ASEAN Community.  ASEAN’s Vision 2025 is a bold, visionary, progressive, and forward-looking document to reflect the aspirations of the next generation of ASEAN nationals.  It will realize a politically integrated, socially responsible, and a truly people-oriented, people-centered and rules-based ASEAN.

The 2017 Chairship theme reflects the Philippines advocacy to promote cooperation with and among neighbors and ASEAN partner countries and invite them to become dynamic and vibrant partners.  The Philippines as Chair of ASEAN in 2017, championed positive change in the community to produce a unified voice in the world.

Philippine priorities for its ASEAN Chairship in 2017 include:

  • A People-oriented and People-centered ASEAN
  • Peace and Stability in the Region
  • Inclusive, Innovation-led Growth
  • Maritime Security and Cooperation
  • A Resilient ASEAN
  • ASEAN: A Model of Regionalism, a Global Player

Source: ASEAN50 Brochure

Be the first to comment on "ASEAN @ 50"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.